[Skip to content]

ITS World Congress ITS International
ITS World Congress ITS International
ITS World Congress ITS International
Search our Site

Daily Video

Sponsored By Kapsch
Click here to see all Daily Videos
31 October 2017



Winners of ITS Lifetime Achievement Award announced

First publishedin ITS World Congress
Daily News
Day 2
The inductees receive their lifetime achievement awards from the heads of the respective associations
Europe’s Christer Karlsson, Asia-Pacific’s Ismail bin Md Salleh, and America’s Mike Doyle, are this year’s winners of the ITS Lifetime Achievement Award that recognises a person who personifies the highest standards of leadership, and has helped drive the ITS industry forward.

Karlsson is best known for his role with ITS Sweden and his commitment in promoting, encouraging and nurturing his huge network of international contacts to spread and share knowledge of ITS.

He built international relationships and initiated and became the first chair of the Network of European National ITS organisations.

Karlsson’s contributions to European projects have been impressive, from the pioneering EC Framework Programme projects, through his leadership of the Viking euro-regional project which coordinated ITS developments across four European countries and five Northern German Länder, to the major role he played in helping establish the EasyWay programme.

Econolite chairman and chief executive officer Mike Doyle has held this position since acquiring the company in February 1978 as part of a private partnership acquisition.

Under Doyle’s leadership, Econolite expanded to serve many aspects of the transportation market, offering products and services from Econolite, Econolite Canada, and Econolite Systems.

Doyle, a past chair of ITS America, spent many years serving on the ITSA board of directors and leadership circle.  In 2013, he was inducted into the ITS America Hall of Fame.  

Ismail bin Md Salleh, has been responsible for planning, construction, operation and monitoring of all Malaysia’s privatised highways and oversaw the migration to full ETC adoption nationwide.

He is a registered professional engineer, a fellow of the Institution of Engineers Malaysia (FIEM), council member of Road Engineering Asia and Australasia (REAAA), deputy president of Road Engineering of Malaysia (REAM), president of ITS Malaysia, and chairman of the Chartered Institution of Highways & Transportation (Malaysia Branch) (CiHTMB). Currently, he is the director general of Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) since 2009.

Companies in this article

ITS World Congress Exhibitors List
ITS World Congress Conference
ITS World Congress Registration
Platinum Sponsors
Xerox 295x110 12 px borderMastercard logo 295 x 110Swarco 15 295 x 110Iteris 2016 295 x 110 logoCubic 2015 Logo 295 x 110Siemens Web bannerEDI Logo 295 x 110 bannerLindsay 295 x 110Here Logo 2016 295 x 110Wavetronix 16 295 x 110 Logo
Platinum Sponsors
Trafficware logo 295 x 110 bannerEconolite 295 x 110Cubic 2015 Logo 295 x 110Lindsay 295 x 110EDI Logo 295 x 110 bannerIteris 2016 295 x 110 logo
Page Comments