[Skip to content]

Search our Site
10 October 2017

Finalists shortlisted for ITS Australia National Awards 2017

First publishedon www.ITSInternational.com

The finalists have been shortlisted for the ITS Australia National Awards 2017. The winners will be announced at The Pavilion, Arts Centre Melbourne on 23 November 2017.

This year’s event has a record number of nominations and nearly twice as many submissions considered by the judging panel across all categories, compared to last year.

For the Industry award, the finalists and their projects include Aldridge Traffic Controllers – ATSC4 Traffic Signal Controller with VC6.1 and HRS Software, CEOS – Integrated Infra-red Traffic Logger and HAREcam Systems, and Cubic Transportation Systems – Manly Ferry Contactless Payments Trial.

The nominations and their projects for the Government Award include Queensland Department and Main Roads – Next Generation Traffic and Travel Information Project (QLDTraffic), Transport for New South Wales – Public Transport Information and Priority System, and VicRoads – A Smart Workzone System.

Automated Vehicle award finalists and projects include Bosch Australia – Bosch Highly Automated Driving (HAD) vehicle, EasyMile – EZ10 electric driverless shuttle (providing smart mobility solutions for the first/last mile journey), and Royal Automobile Club of Western Australia – Learnings from the RAC Automated Vehicle Trial. 

For the Research Award, Monash University has been nominated for DynaMel: A Large-Scale Dynamic Traffic Assignment Model of Melbourne and When human beings are like drunk robots: Driverless vehicles, ethics, and the future of transport projects. The University of Melbourne has been also been nominated for its project on The Australian Integrated and Multi-modal Ecosystem.

Nominees for the Young Professional Award include James Donovan, a graduate engineer at Metro Trains Melbourne; Tao Wen, a research scientist with Data61 CSIRO, and; Timothy Phillips who has been employed by Egis as a maintenance engineer at Legacy Way Tunnel.  

Gino Dompietro, committee chair of ITS Australia National Awards, said “This year’s shortlist includes nearly every Australian state. This positively reflects Australia’s capability to host local and international trials and pilots, and shows that governments, industry and researchers, across the country, are striving for better transport solutions.”

More information is available on the website.

Page Comments