WTS International names Woman of the Year

Inez Evans, boss of IndyGo, was awarded the prestigious title at a ceremony in Seattle
Charging, Tolling & Road Pricing / May 23, 2022
By Adam Hill
Women in transportation equality equity diversity image credit: Empower Video Productions
Women’s Transportation Seminar International 2022 recognition awards (image credit: Empower Video Productions)

Inez Evans, president and CEO of Indianapolis transit agency IndyGo, has been named Woman of the Year at the Women’s Transportation Seminar (WTS) International 2022 recognition awards.

Evans and the other winners were revealed during the 2022 WTS International Annual Conference in Seattle.

WTS says the awards "represent the best and brightest in transportation innovation, effectiveness, and leadership, embodying the mission and vision of the organisation".
"It is an honour to recognise the individuals and organisations who continually demonstrate their excellence and influence in transportation," says Paula Hammond, chair, 2020-22 WTS International Board of Directors.

The winners are:

Employer of the Year 
Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority 
Innovative Transportation Solutions Award 
Crystal Mays - RK&K, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Strategic Recycling Program & Ridley Creek State Park Demonstration Project
Rosa Parks Diversity Leadership Award
Honorable Tammy Duckworth, United States Senate 
Honorable Ray LaHood Award
Bruce Wong, Director, Ada County, Idaho Highway District 
Member of the Year 

Barbara Arens, Managing Principal, Cincar Consulting Group (C2G) 
Woman of the Year
Inez Evans, President and CEO, IndyGo
Mary Peters Inspirational Leader Award
Dr. Beverly Scott, Founder and CEO, iyai+
Also honoured at the 2022 Awards Gala were nine recipients of WTS Foundation scholarships. The WTS Foundation supports high school, undergraduate, and graduate-level students pursuing studies in transportation-related fields.

This year, the Foundation provided $45,000 in funding at the event. Annually, the Foundation awards over $600,000 in scholarships.
"These extraordinary honourees go above and beyond each day to continue to advance women and advance the transportation industry,” said Sara Stickler, president & CEO, WTS International.

“It’s a pleasure to recognise the time, talents and leadership of those dedicated to such meaningful growth and impact.”

WTS has also revealed its new boards, elected on two-year terms.
Jannet Walker-Ford, chair-elect is the immediate past chair of the WTS Foundation Board, and National Transit & Rail Business Line Lead at WSP USA. 

"Advancing women in transportation is more important than ever,” she said. “I am honoured to help guide WTS International and our dedicated membership into the future—reflecting on the needs of our communities, implementing a legislative agenda that informs policy makers on the importance of equity, and embracing mobility strategies that will move a diverse workforce and industry ever-forward.”
2022-2024 WTS International Board of Directors

•    Chair – Jannet Walker-Ford, WSP USA 
•    Vice Chair –  Bridget Beato, Lumenor Consulting Group
•    Immediate Past Chair – Paula Hammond, WSP USA 
•    Secretary – Leanne Redden, Regional Transportation Authorit, RTA Chicago 
•    Treasurer – Alexa Gangemi, HNTB
•    Director –  Erin Slayton, HDR
•    Director –  Karen Philbrick, Ph.D., Mineta Transportation Institute
•    Director –  Inez Evans, IndyGo
•    Director –  Monica Tibbits-Nutt, 128 Business Council
•    Director –  MJ Maynard, Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada
•    Director –  Helen McSwain, Rohadfox Construction Control Services 
•    Director –  Katharine Eagan Kelleman, Port Authority of Allegheny County
•    Director –  Debra Johnson, Denver Regional Transportation District 
2022-2024 WTS Foundation Board of Directors

•    Chair – Karen Good, Department of Transportation & Infrastructure, City of Denver
•    Vice Chair – Yvonne Lopez-Diaz, HNTB
•    Immediate Past Chair – Jannet Walker-Ford, WSP USA  
•    Secretary – Davietta Knight, RS&H
•    Treasurer – Christi Skinner, HDR 
•    Director –  Avital Barnea, California State Transportation Agency
•    Director –  Kelly Kaysonepheth, AZTEC Engineering
•    Director –  Angela Berry-Roberson, WSP USA
•    Director –  Odessa L. Phillip, Assedo Consulting
•    Director –  Emmanuella Myrthil, HNTB
•    Director – Monica Tibbits-Nutt, 128 Business Council

For more information on companies in this article