[Skip to content]

Search our Site
10 September 2019

NOCoE opens submissions for TSMO Awards

First publishedon www.ITSInternational.com

The US National Operations Center of Excellence (NOCoE) is accepting submissions for the second Transportation Systems Management and Operations (TSMO) Awards.

The TSMO awards celebrate transportation management and operations that save lives, time and money.

Judges will select a winner and runner-up from the following:

•Best TSMO Project (Creative Solution) – A successful project, planning or response to a specific event, or other improvement for safety, congestion and/or travel time reliability. These practices seek to advance the transportation system via public communications, traffic management or special event management.

•Agency Improvement: Use of Capability Maturity Model (CMM) – An agency/organisation that uses CMM and how the capabilities in each CMM dimensions has been improved using the agency/organisation self-assessments and follow-on action plans.

•TSMO Workforce Development – An agency or organisation that has developed a key practice to advance workforce development or advanced workforce for the TSMO community overall.

•Best Use of Management of Data to Improve TSMO – Recognising methods being used to manage data that improve the management and operations of the transportation system.

Each category winner’s designee will travel to the 2020 Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, where they will present their projects to attendees.

A NOCoE Gold Medal honouree will be chosen as the overall winner among the four category winners and will be recognised as the best TSMO project for the 2020 awards.

Additionally, one individual will win the annual TSMO Champion Award for advancing TSMO and advancing the way people and organisations think about transportation.

The awards are open to any metropolitan planning organisation, regional planning organisation, council of governments, state department of transportation and private sector organisation.  Entries should highlight successful TSMO projects undertaken in the last five years that have provided a clear benefit to the travelling public.

Deadline for entries is 11 October.

Companies in this article

Transportation Research Board