Comto honours women 'who move the nation'

Conference of Minority Transportation Officials celebrates 'outstanding contributions'
Classification & Data Collection / March 16, 2023
By Adam Hill
Diversity equity inclusion women in transportation Smithsonian (image: Aasiyah Blow | Comto)
The honourees at the Smithsonian in Washington, DC (image: Aasiyah Blow | Comto)

The Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (Comto) has honoured 10 women for their work in the transport sector.

Held during Women's History Month, the 12th annual Celebrating Women Who Move the Nation Awards Breakfast took place at the Smithsonian American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery in Washington, DC.

The citation is for women "making outstanding contributions to the transportation industry across modes, who carve a path forward for the next generation and shatter glass ceilings".

"It is our privilege to honour, elevate and celebrate these outstanding women working to advance the transportation industry," said April Rai, president & CEO, Comto.

"The work of these honourees positively impact the lives of millions, and move the mission of Comto forward."

Founded in 1971, Comto is a non-profit organisation dedicated to advancing under-represented groups in the transportation industry.

Central Ohio Transit Authority (Cota) president/CEO Joanna M. Pinkerton was among the honourees, and said: “I am incredibly grateful to be honoured by Comto for the transformation we have made at Cota through equity, diversity and inclusion initiatives."

“Mobility best serves the community when all voices are represented and sit at the table. Cota will always prioritise an inclusive workplace and celebrate the diversity of ideas across the organisation, helping to inform and shape our region’s equitable mobility solutions.”

The full list of honourees is:

Henrika Buchanan, National Practice Consultant & Vice President, HNTB
Veronica Castro de Barrera, Chair, Board of Directors, Austin Transit Partnership
Inez Evans, President & CEO, IndyGo
Cynthia Guidry, Director, Long Beach Airport
Captain Zeita Merchant, Commander, US Coast Guard
Raquel Olivier, CPA, MBA President/CEO, Olivier, Inc, Link Transportation Corporation
Joanna Pinkerton, President & CEO, Central Ohio Transit Authority
Lynda Tran, Director of Public Engagement & Senior Advisor, U.S. Department of Transportation
Denise Turner Roth, Advisory National Business Line Executive, WSP, USA
Veronica Vanterpool, Deputy Administrator, Federal Transit Administration, US Department of Transportation