TRB 2024: Chair's plenary session with Pete Buttigieg

US Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg: "We're all transportation people, so I think we'd confess to a level of fascination with physical infrastructure and vehicle technology...which is probably beyond most people's..."
January 22, 2024

The TRB Executive Committee Chair and Vice Chair hosted a special session to honor TRB award winners, engage in a fireside chat on mental wellness in the construction and transportation industries, and featuring inspirational closing remarks from US Secretary of Transportation Pete Buttigieg.

During the awards presentation:
Imad L. Al-Qadi received the 2023 Roy W. Crum Award
John M. Mason, Jr. received the 2023 W.N. Carey, Jr. Award
Nathaniel P. Ford, Sr. received the 2024 Sharon Banks Medal

The fireside chat featured:
Sharareh (Sherri) Kermanshachi, Penn State Harrisburg
Travis McCarthy, Sundt Construction, Inc.
Peter Tateishi, Associated General Contractors of California

with moderators:
Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti, New Jersey Department of Transportation
Carol Lewis, Texas Southern University